WNBA Tips Off on Amazon

Amazon Prime Video tips off its inaugural 16-game WNBA schedule tomorrow, May 29, at 2 pm ET with a matchup between the Atlanta Dream and New York Liberty at Brooklyn’s Barclays Center.

The first nine games streaming on Prime are part of the WNBA’s inaugural Commissioner’s Cup, an in-season competition designating 10 games per team as Cup play. The team in each conference with the best Cup game record will compete on Thursday, August 12, for The Commissioner Cup Championship. Total prize money of $500,000 is at stake.

The remaining games will run on Prime following the conclusion of Commissioner’s Cup play.

“We’re honored to be the first professional basketball league streamed on Prime Video as part of a Prime membership,” said WNBA Commissioner Cathy Engelbert.

WNBA on Amazon Prime Video
(Image source: Amazon Studios)

Amazon Prime Video’s 2021 WNBA Game Schedule

    Saturday, May 29 – Atlanta Dream @ New York Liberty, 2 p.m. ET

    Friday, June 4 – Dallas Wings @ Seattle Storm, 10 pm ET

    Saturday, June 12 – Chicago Sky @ Indiana Fever, 1 pm ET

    Wednesday, June 16 – Phoenix Mercury @ Los Angeles Sparks, 10:30 pm ET

    Tuesday, June 22 – Chicago Sky @ New York Liberty, 7 pm ET

    Wednesday, June 30 – Las Vegas Aces @ Los Angeles Sparks, 10:30 pm ET

    Thursday, July 1 – Connecticut Sun @ Indiana Fever, 7 pm ET

    Wednesday, July 7 – Phoenix Mercury @ Las Vegas Aces, 10 pm ET

    Saturday, July 10 – Washington Mystics @ Chicago Sky, 8 pm ET

Tuesday, August 17 – Minnesota Lynx @ Connecticut Sun, 7 pm ET

    Friday, August 20 – Seattle Storm @ New York Liberty, 7 pm ET

    Thursday, August 26 – Dallas Wings @ Washington Mystics, 7 pm ET

    Tuesday, August 31 – New York Liberty @ Minnesota Lynx, 8 pm ET

    Thursday, September 2 – New York Liberty @ Seattle Storm, 10 pm ET

    Tuesday, September 7 – Connecticut Sun @ Dallas Wings, 8 pm ET

    Thursday, September 16 – Los Angeles Sparks @ Atlanta Dream, 7 pm ET

An Amazon Prime membership costs $12.99 month/$119 annually and includes the streaming service, free product shipping and other benefits. An Amazon Video membership costs $8.99 a month just for the streamer. For more information, visit Amazon.

(Top image source: YouTube video)

About Larry Greenberg

A former local beat reporter and film critic, co-founder Lawrence Greenberg has more than 25 years’ experience as a writer and public relations executive.

View All Articles

Leave a Comment