May the 4th Be with You

(Above: ‘Disney Gallery: The Mandalorian.’ Source: Disney+)

Disney+, streaming home of the Stars Wars franchise, celebrates “May the Fourth Be with You” day with the launch of an eight-episode documentary series Disney Gallery: The Mandalorian, the final episode of the long-running Star Wars: The Clone Wars, and the premiere of the 2019 hit, Stars Wars: The Rise of Skywalker.

In Disney Gallery: The Mandalorian, showrunner Jon Favreau takes viewers behind the scenes of the hit Disney+ live-action series through a different weekly topic. They include the filmmaking process; the legacy of George Lucas’ Star Wars; how the cast brought the characters to life; the series’ technology; the artistry behind the show’s models, effects, and creatures; creative influences; and connections to characters and props from the Stars Wars galaxy.

After today’s premiere, new episodes of Disney Gallery: The Mandalorian will drop on Fridays.

Exploring the events leading up to the 2005 live-action film Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith, the animated Star Wars: The Clone Wars wraps up with the 133rd episode of its epic seven-season run (five on Cartoon Network, one on Netflix, and one of Disney +). The TV series followed a 2008  theatrical feature.

All the seasons, and the movie, are currently available on Disney+.

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, the climactic film of the nine-film Star Wars saga, stars Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Anthony Daniels, Naomi Ackie, Domhnall Gleeson, Richard E. Grant, Lupita Nyong’o, Keri Russell, Joonas Suotamo, Kelly Marie Tran, with Ian McDiarmid and Billy Dee Williams.

All nine films can be found on Disney+.

Disney+ costs $6.99 a month or $69.99 annually. A combo plan, $12.99 a month, consists of Disney+, Hulu and ESPN+.

About Les Luchter

Les Luchter is a former managing editor of Multichannel News, editor-in-chief of Cable Marketing, and news editor of Broadcast Week.

View All Articles

Leave a Comment