‘Jeopardy!’ Showdown

(Above source: YouTube video)

Who is the greatest Jeopardy! champion of all time?

ABC intends to answer that question – or should we say question that answer – starting Tuesday, January 7, at 8 pm ET with a prime-time competition among the show’s three all-time biggest money-winners.

Alex Trebek (who else?) will host the multi-night contest of one-hour episodes (8 pm ET each night, but check your local station’s schedule). The first player to win three games will take first prize – $1 million – and the runners-up will receive $250,000 each.

The competitors are:

Ken Jennings – Jennings won $2,520,700 over a record 74 straight games, the longest streak in the show’s history. Including other appearances, his total Jeopardy! winnings amount to $3,370,700, according to the show’s producers.

Brad Rutter – Rutter is the highest money winner of all time across any TV game show, having won $4,688,436 on Jeopardy! He has never lost to a human opponent, according to Business Insider. (Fortunately for Rutter — as well as Jennings and Holzhauer — IBM’s Watson wasn’t invited to participate in next week’s tourney.)

James Holzhauer – The “all-in” champ holds the top 15 Jeopardy! single-day records and just won the 2019 Tournament of Champions. He has won $2,712,216 so far.

The competition schedule is as follows:

Tuesday, January 7
Wednesday, January 8
Thursday, January 9
Friday, January 10 (if necessary)
Tuesday, January 14 (if necessary)
Wednesday, January 15 (if necessary)
Thursday, January 16 (if necessary)

About Larry Greenberg

A former local beat reporter and film critic, co-founder Lawrence Greenberg has more than 25 years’ experience as a writer and public relations executive.

View All Articles

Leave a Comment