Simon Brett’s Sitcoms

(Above: ‘After Henry’)

British novelist Simon Brett was once known for memorable sitcoms.

Simon Brett is best known as a prolific British detective novelist, but he once also excelled as a writer of radio and TV sitcoms.

Brett’s classic After Henry is available to Acorn TV subscribers starting today. The comedy stars Prunella Scales (Fawlty Towers) as a recently widowed middle class woman living in the same house with a demanding mother (Joan Sanderson) and a rebellious teenage daughter (Janine Wood).

After Henry began as a radio series in 1985, with the TV version starting in 1988. The show ended on radio in 1989 and on TV in 1992.

Acorn will roll out all four seasons of the 36-episode TV series, starting with the six-episode first season today. The succeeding seasons will premiere the following three Mondays through May 14. (The fourth season also has six episodes, but the second and third seasons have 12 episodes apiece).

You can also binge After Henry free on Retrouktv1’s YouTube channel.

Here’s episode one:

Simon Brett wrote one other TV comedy series, Land of Hope and Gloria, also co-starring Joan Sanderson. She died a month before the show’s premiere is 1992, which is apparently why the series ran for only one six-episode season. Here’s the first episode:


About Les Luchter

Les Luchter is a former managing editor of Multichannel News, editor-in-chief of Cable Marketing, and news editor of Broadcast Week.

View All Articles

Leave a Comment