Hispanic Heritage Docs

(Pictured above: ‘Beyond La Bamba’)

Public television’s World Channel will mark National Hispanic Heritage Month with the debuts of six documentaries over the next three weeks.

The series kicks off tomorrow night, September 20, at 9 pm ET/6 pm PT, with Beyond La Bamba, a half-hour look at a young man who leaves his rural Mexican home to become a musician in Milwaukee.

The other films are:

The Head of Joaquin Murrietathe search for the truth behind a mysterious Old West legend, (half-hour, Wednesday, Sept 20, 9:30 pm ET/6:30 pm PT);

My Bolivia: Remembering What I Never Knew,  in which filmmaker Rick Tejada-Flores discovers his family’s roots among Bolivia’s ruling elite (one-hour, Sunday, October 8, 10 pm ET/7 pm PT);

K-Town ’92 Reporters, with three journalists of color reflecting back on their time with The Los Angeles Times during the riots following the Rodney King verdict (half-hour, Monday, October 9th, 9 pm ET/6 pm PT);

Farewell Ferris Wheel, about the Mexican migrants who supply 80% of the labor for America’s traveling carnivals (one-hour, Tuesday, October 10, 8pm ET/9pm PT);

Shot in Mexico, the story of a young American activist and journalist killed in 2006 while filming a violent rebellion in Oaxaca, Mexico (half-hour, broadcast day/time not yet announced).

In addition to their over-the-air telecasts, shows will be available for streaming a day later on worldchannel.org. 

For more info about the six shows, visit Latino Public Broadcasting at lpbp.org.

To find your local World Channel station, go to worldchannel.org and click on the “Set Station” tab.

About Les Luchter

Les Luchter is a former managing editor of Multichannel News, editor-in-chief of Cable Marketing, and news editor of Broadcast Week.

View All Articles

Leave a Comment