MLB Hall of Fame

(Pictured above: 2017 Hall of Fame inductee Tim Raines)

This Sunday, July 30, Major League Baseball’s most celebrated and revered annual event – the Hall of Fame induction ceremonies – will stream free from Cooperstown, NY. The event, starting at 1:30 pm ET, can be live-streamed at 

The Hall of Fame’s Class of ’17,  selected by the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA), includes:

Jeff Bagwell – Bagwell spent his entire 15-year career (1991-2005) with the Houston Astros as a first baseman, slamming a career total 449 home runs, 1529 RBIs and garnering a .297 batting average. He was a four-time National League All-Star and won a Gold Glove in 1994. Bagwell received 86.2% of the vote;

Tim Raines – Left fielder Raines spent 13  years of his 23-year career (1979-2002) with the Montreal Expos, winning the 1986 NL batting crown with a .334 average. Known also for his speed, Raines racked up 808 career steals, a .294 batting average, over 2600 career hits, and 980 RBIs. Raines received 86% of the vote;

Iván Rodríguez – Over a 21-year career (1991-2011), “Pudge” was known as one of the best defensive catchers in the business, winning 13 Gold Gloves. He spent his first 12 years with the Texas Rangers where, in 1999, he won the American League Most Valuable Player award. He compiled a career .296 batting average, with 311 home runs and 1,332 RBIs. Rodríguez received 76% of the vote.

A player must receive at least 75% of the vote to be inducted, according to BBWAA election rules.

Other honorees will include:

  • Rachel Robinson, who will receive the Hall of Fame’s Buck O’Neil Lifetime Achievement Award;
  • Writer Claire Smith, who will receive the J.G. Taylor Spink Award for meritorious contributions to baseball writing;
  • Longtime Oakland Athletics broadcaster Bill King, to be posthumously honored as the Ford C. Frick Award winner for excellence in broadcasting.

Hall of Fame inductees from previous years will also attend, including Hank Aaron, Whitey Ford, Johnny Bench, Bob Gibson, Carlton Fisk, Juan Marichal, Nolan Ryan, Mike Piazza, Rod Carew and Sandy Koufax.

About Larry Greenberg

A former local beat reporter and film critic, co-founder Lawrence Greenberg has more than 25 years’ experience as a writer and public relations executive.

View All Articles

Leave a Comment